Move to Main Content

Kaohsiung Management Office

Kaohsiung Management Office


Irrigation Areas

The office’s operation area is located in the southwest district of southern Taiwan. The irrigation area covers 25 administrative districts in Kaohsiung City and is divided into 3 irrigation areas: Caogong Irrigation District, Gangshan Irrigation District, and Qishan Irrigation District. The irrigation area is currently 20,367 hectares.

Irrigation Area
Irrigation Area

The rivers in the irrigation area include Gaoping River, Houjin River, Love River, Qianzhen River etc. Gaoping River is the main irrigation water source, with water intake set up in Jiuqutang and introduced through Caogong Canal to irrigate about 6,500 hectares of agricultural land.

The rivers in this irrigation area include Erren River, Shengfanlai River (Tulu Reservoir Drainage), Agongdian River, Zhuzigang River, Dianbao River, Wulilin River and other river basins. Irrigation water source rivers include Erren River, Agongdian Reservoir, Shengfanlai River, Dianbao River and other watersheds, among which Erren River and Agongdian Reservoir are the main irrigation water sources.

The irrigation water source is Laonong River, followed by Qishan River. The drainage channel is mainly Qishan River. Both rivers originate from the southern foot of Yushan Mountain. Qishan River is located on the north side and Laonong River on the south side, with both flowing from northeast to southwest. When they reach the entrance of Qishan Ridge, they merge and become Gaoping River.

The Kaohsiung area is industrially and commercially developed, with many factories and a dense population. The continuous discharge of sewage into channels at all levels in the area harms the natural ecology, crop cultivation and production. This situation is particularly severe in the Houjin River and Agongdian River systems.

To this end, the office formulated the "Monitoring Plan to Strengthen Agricultural Water Pollution Prevention and Control" to standardize the quality of irrigation water, and establish information on drainage accounts. It also established a general monitoring station, 16 monitoring stations, and 118 monitoring points to inspect the quality of irrigation water. There are 115 drainage accounts, and they cooperate with relevant agencies on pollution prevention and control work.

Last Updated:2024/06/05